Dragon hockey finished their season after clinching the Two Rivers Conference Championship for the fourth year in a row.  Dusty Bergstrom, George Miller, Alex Laven, Jordan Stich, Parker Sell and Gabe Westbrook were named All Conference, with All Conference Honorable Mentions going to Luke Fabini and Joey Mikyska. Dusty Bergstrom, Seth Linnell, Tryston West, Logan Belau and Luke Fabini were named All Conference Academics.

On Feb. 11, 2019, Dusty Bergstrom picked up his 100th point as a varsity player. Bergstrom also was named the team’s Most Valuable Player. George Miller received Hardest Worker and Parker Sell received Rookie of the Year. Most Improved went to Justin Gamec and Joey Mikyska. The JV Most Valuable Player went to Seth Linnell and JV Leadership to TJ Rank.

Each year a single senior hockey player from each participating high school is selected by his or her coach to be honored by teammates and celebrated by the school and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice. Because their presence makes the game better, they are honored with the Hobey Baker Award. This year Kyle Wiener received this honor.

In 2019/2020 the Dragons will return to the ice being led by captains Dusty Bergstrom, George Miller and Justin Gamec.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.